Richmond Night Market

Before I talk about how amazing the night market is, let me tell you how happy I am to finally have a functioning internet. Turns out my router was never broken and that the fault lied with our awful internet package. All is well, and I hope to never see 1200 ping on a speed test ever again.

Cheesy Fry
Cheesy Fry

Now on to the night market. This place basically gives you a glimpse of what food stalls in Asia look like, loud and noisy crowds, large amounts of cheap counterfeit goods, but most importantly great street food (except everything is much more expensive in Canada).

As always I came here famished and ready to eat, opting to hit the stalls before browsing around the stores. The line up to actually get in was quite daunting but it cleared up quickly and, in ten minutes, I was well on my way to foodie heaven. I tried my best to remember what I had, how much it was, and where I had it but it was difficult. Please bear with my awful memory.

The first dish (as seen on the feature photo) was this mochi takoyaki from a storm I cannot rememberIt might be because I was famished, but this mochi was absolutely delicious. Chewy, crispy, creamy, and savoury, anything with Japanese mayo, takoyaki sauce, and seaweed is good in my books.

The second dish was a deep fried shrimp waffle sandwich thing from Cheesy Fry ($1 off any item if you use the coupon book). Another one of my favourites for the day, generous portions of deep fried shrimp and cabbage inside a potato-y waffle sandwich. The waffle itself is not too tasty without the shrimp so its not the perfect dish, but the shrimp was very good.

It kind of looks like poo. But don't worry, it didn't taste like poo.
It kind of looks like poo. But don’t worry, it didn’t taste like poo.
Cinderella and Blue Hawaii.
Cinderella and Blue Hawaii.

Third item of the day was a thai curry poutine from a vendor that specialized in thai cuisine. Honestly the dish looks quite unappetizing but the flavour was alright. It was very monotone and didn’t have much depth so I don’t recommend ordering this one.

Fourth item (our stomachs were getting full at this point) was the illusive liquid nitrogen-y drinks at Bubble Pop. We received $1.50 off the purchase of 2 drinks so that wasn’t too bad. I ordered a Blue Hawaii while my friend got the Cinderella. Effect-wise this was definitely interesting, if you like posting brag-worthy instagram photos then this is definitely the stall to take your pics at. The smoking effect of the drink lasts for around 6-7 minutes so you’ll have a good chance to take a few shots. Taste-wise it was alright. If you’re one of the few individuals that hate the taste of semi-artificial coconut then definitely don’t get the Blue Hawaii because, well, it just tastes like artificial coconut water.

Pan fried ice cream rolls.

At this point our stomachs were beyond their limits and we were feeling pretty full so we decided to head out. HOWEVER, while walking past the stalls towards the exit we found the stall that served pan fried ice cream. Personally, I had fangirled over this quite hard as it looked amazing on these Facebook videos that always popped up on my screen. Watching the process of how they made it was quite amazing too as they roll them into very large portions and add dollops of whipped cream and pearl things on top. The texture of the ice cream was like a strange, thick cornstarch-y mixture but it did not have a starchy flavour. This item is very filling and they provide around 6-7 rolls of this ice cream so make sure to share it with a friend. I ordered the green tea flavour but I really wish I got the oreo one, it looked really good.

There are many great food stalls here, but equally a large amount of awful ones too. Aside from the ones I tried today I also recommend the Taiyaki, Ramen, Squid, and Bubble Waffles (always a night market classic). Avoid the extra large takoyaki and get the regular sized ones, the large ones always seem slightly uncooked on the inside. But anywho, come with a empty stomach and a large appetite for new and strange foods, despite the night market being a yearly event it always has a few new surprises in store.

Leave a Reply

